Print

Dance Schedule Archives - 2010

Sat Jan 2
$8
7:30pm
Callers' Choice Dance
Band: Reel Women
Callers: open calling. Contact Martha Edwards if you want to call.

Mostly contras, a few contra-friendly English dances, and maybe a square or rhomboid.
Sun Jan 3
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Grouchy Geezers
Caller:  Martha Edwards and Dale Wilson
Sat Jan 9
$6
8:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Roadkill Ramblers
Caller: Ted Steele
Sun Jan 10
$10
6:00pm
7:00pm
Waltz Party
Waltz Workshop 6pm - Zwiefacher workshop with Diane Silver
Dance 7-9pm
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Fri Jan 15
$8
7:30pm
English Country Dance
Band:   Playford's PaJaMa
Callers: Missy Reisenleiter and Mark Rice
Sun Jan 17
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Night Crawlers
Caller: Mac McKeever
Sun Jan 24
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Chicks with Guns
Caller:  Wade Pearson
Sun Jan 31
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Dave Landreth & Friends
Caller:  Deborah Hyland
Sat Feb 6
$8 (under 30 $5)
7:30pm
Callers' Choice Dance
Band: Reel Women
Callers: Bob Green, Dale Wilson, David Keller

Mostly contras, a few contra-friendly English dances, and maybe a square or rhomboid.
Sun Feb 7
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Andy Gribble & New Mules
Caller: Karen Jackson with guest Mac McKeever
Sat Feb 13
$6
8:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Scraphounds
Caller:  Ted Steele
Sun Feb 14
$10
6:00pm
7:00pm
Valentine's Day Waltz Party
Waltz Workshop 6pm with Martha Edwards
Dance 7-9pm
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Fri Feb 19
$10
7:30pm
English Country Dance - Presidents Ball
Band:   Tu'Penny Uprights
Callers: John Ramsay and Friends

Period attire - you choose your Presidential era.

Sat Feb 20
$8
7:30pm
Bonus Dance! at the Studio 42 at Crestwood Court on a sprung wood dance floor with one of our favorite fiddlers, Rhys Jones.
Callers: Mac McKeever, Ted Steele and friends

Check out some of these music samples: myspace.com/rhysjonesmusic

Enter Crestwood Court on the west end of Crestwood Plaza to find Studio 42. That's to the left as you are facing the mall from Watson Road, on the end where Macy's used to be.

Sun Feb 21
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Lindell, Geoff, and Friends
Caller:  Wade Pearson
Sun Feb 28
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Marc Rennard & Active Cultures
Caller:  Mac McKeever
Sat Mar 6
$8 (under 30 $5)
7:30pm
Callers' Choice Dance
Band: Folk School Ensemble Class
Callers: Martha Edwards, David Keller, Karen Jackson, Bob Green, Wade Pearson
Sun March 7
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Reel Women (and a Jigelo)
Callers:  Bob Green & Dale Wilson
Sat March 13
$6
8:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Big Limber
Caller:  Lisa Harris
Sun Mar 14
$10
6:00pm
7:00pm
Waltz Party
Waltz Workshop 6pm
Dance 7-9pm
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Fri Mar 19
$8
7:30pm
English Country Dance
Band:   Bob Borcherding on fiddle, Kristin Graham on keyboard
Caller: Chrystal Gallacci Jones
Sun March 21
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Banvard's Folly
Caller:  Ted Steele
Sun March 28
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Mound City Slickers
Caller:  Mac McKeever
Sat Apr 3
$8 (under 30 $5)
7:30pm
Callers' Choice Dance
Band: Smuggler's Cargo
Callers: Karen Jackson, David Keller, Martha Edwards, Bob Green, Joe Felsen, Kathy Coffman and John Coffman

Mostly contras
Sun April 4
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Boney Goat String Band
Caller:  John & Cathy Coffman

Fri Apr and
Sat Apr 10

Dr. John's Birthday Bash
Fri Apr 9th - English Country Dance
Sponsored by St. Louis English Country Dancers
Workshop 7:00 pm; dancing 7:30 - 9:30 pm
Band: Original Speckled Band
$7.00 (students $5.00) For reservations please e-mail here.
Sat Apr 10th: English Country Dance
Sponsored by Dance Discovery & Webster Groves English Country Dancers
Dancing 1:00 - 4:00 pm
Band: Tu'penny Uprights
$8.00 (students $5.00) For reservations please e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Sat Apr 10
$6
8:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Fred Campeau, Dave Landreth, Jim Nelson, and Andy Gribble
Caller:  Robbin Marcus
Sun Apr 11
$10
6:00pm
7:00pm
Waltz Party
Schottische Workshop 6pm
Dance 7-9pm
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Fri Apr 16
$8
7:30pm
English Country Dance
Band:   Kristin Graham, keyboard, Martha Edwards, fiddle, and Tim Herzel, flute
Callers: Jeff Sadler, Missy Reisenleiter, Mark Rice
Sun April 18
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Ted Vasquez, Barbara Weathers, Tom Hall
Caller:  Deborah Hyland
Sun April 25
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Folk School
Caller: Judy Bass
Sat May 1
$8
7:30pm
Callers Choice Dance
Band: Reel Women
Callers: Open calling. Contact Martha Edwards if you want to call.
Sun May 2
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Vigortones
Caller: Mac McKeever
Sat May 8
$6
8:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Andy Gribble, Charlie Walden & The Buchanans
Caller: Patt Plunkett
Sun May 9
$10
7:00pm
Waltz Party
Workshop 6pm
Dance 7-9pm
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Sun May 16
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Matt Turino, Ben Smith
Caller: Ted Steele
Fri May 21
$8
7:30pm
English Country Dance
Band:   Hibernia Station
Callers: Bob Green and Martha Edwards
Sun May 23
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Tune Hounds
Caller: Rachael Shapio
Fri-Sun May 28-31 Welcome to KimmswickKIMMSWICK DANCE WEEKEND
Three days of dancing, music, food, juggling and nature
Sat Jun 5
$8
7:30pm
Callers Choice Dance
Band: Reel Women
Callers: Bob Green and David Keller
Sun Jun 6
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Marc Rennard, Dave Landreth, Ellen Gomez and Ryan Spearman
Caller: Ted Steele
Sat Jun 12
$6
8:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Cathy Barton and Dave Para
Caller: Deborah Hyland
Sun Jun 13
$10
6:00pm
Waltz Party
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Fri Jun 18
$8
7:30pm
English Country Dance
Band:  TuPenny Uprights (Kristin Graham and Martha Edwards)
Caller: Jeff Sadler, Mark Rice
Sun Jun 20
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band: Steve Hall on fiddle, Jeff Miller on banjo, Jim
Nelson on guitar, and Dedo Norris on bass
Caller: Joe Surdyk
Sun Jun 27
$5
7:00pm
Contra Dance
Band:  Scraphounds (Pete, Howard, Barbra)
Caller: Gail Hintz
Sat Jul 3
$8
7:30pm
Callers Choice Dance
Band: The Nightcrawlers (Kristin, Ted and Mike)
Callers: Karen Jackson and Wade Pearson
Sun Jul 4
NO DANCE
HAPPY INDEPENDANCE DAY
Sat Jul 10
8:00 pm
$6
Contra Dance
Band: Cairo Pharaohs (Chirps and Gribbles, Cuz'n Curtis, and the Landroid)
Caller: Mac McKeever
Sun Jul 11
6:30 pm
7:30 pm
$10
Waltz Party
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Workshop: Cross-step Waltz with Bob Green
Fri Jul 16 English Country Dance
Band: The Tu'Penny Players
Caller: Peter Wollenberg
Sun Jul 18 Contra Dance
Band:  Barbara Weathers on fiddle, Jeff Miller on banjo, Jim
Nelson on guitar, and Dedo Norris on bass
Caller: Wade Pearson
Sun Jul 25
7:00 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Chicks with Guns
Caller: Karen Jackson
Sun Aug 1
7:00 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Marc Rennard & Friends
Caller: Deborah Hyland
Sat Aug 7
7:30 pm
$8
Callers Choice Dance
Band: Smuggler's Cargo
Callers: Open Calling.
Sun Aug 8
7:00 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Banvard's Folly
Caller:  Mac McKeever
Sat Aug 14
8:00 pm
$6
Contra Dance
Band:  Matt Turino & Friends
Caller: Cathy & John Coffman
Sun Aug 15 NO WALTZ PARTY THIS MONTH - FLASH DANCE INSTEAD! Flash Dance at the Missouri Botanical Garden
Fri Aug 20
7:30 pm
$8
English Country Dance
Band:  The Tu'Penny Players
Caller: TBA
Workshop at 7:00 pm
Sun Aug 22
7:00 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Mound City Slickers
Caller: Dale Wilson with guest caller Martha Edwards
Sun Aug 29
7:00 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Jim Nelson & Friends
Caller: Judy Bass & Mac Mckeever
Fri - Sun
Sep 3-5
High Tea & WhiskeyHIGH TEA & WHISKEY
ENGLISH AND AMERICAN DANCE WEEKEND

Band:  Pam Carson, Martha Edwards and Kendall Rogers (Glenfiddles, the Rolling Scones)
Callers:  Joanna Reiner, Jim Thaxter

Sun Sep 5
7:00 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Glenfiddles
Caller: Jim Thaxter
Sat Sep 11
8:00 pm
$6
Contra Dance
Band:  U 4
Caller: Mac McKeever
Sun Sep 12
6:30 pm
7:30 pm
$10
Waltz Party
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Workshop with Martha Edwards
Fri Sep 17
7:30 pm
$8
English Country Dance
Band:  The Tu'Penny Uprights
Callers: Missy Reisenleiter and Mark Rice
Sun Sep 19
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Night Crawlers
Caller: Vicki Herndon
Sun Sep 26
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Roadkill Ramblers
Caller:  Wade Pearson
Sat Oct 2
8 pm
$7
Callers Choice Dance
Band: Reel Women
Callers: Open Calling
Sun Oct 3
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Dave Landreth & Friends
Caller: Cathy & John Coffman
Sat Oct 9
8 pm
$6
Contra Dance
Band:  Euphoria
Caller: Kathy Anderson
Sun Oct 10
7 pm
$10
Waltz Party
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Workshop with Bob Green 6-7pm
Fri Oct 15
8 pm
$8
English Country Dance
Band:  The Tu'Penny Players
Caller: Bob Green and Kay Tomlinson

NOTE: a special dance is being held on Saturday, October 16, 2010 to honor Dr. John Ramsay, who will be receiving a Lifetime Contributor Award from CDSS. Download a flyer here. The dance is at the JCCA, 2 Millstone Campus Drive, in the Arts and Education Center.

Sun Oct 17
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Bony Goat String Band
Caller: Martha Edwards & Bob Green
Sun Oct 24
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band:  Marc Rennard & Friends
Caller: Karen Jackson
Fri Oct 29
8 pm
$8

Bonus English Country Dance with Jacqueline Schwab (pianist with Bare Necessities)
Band: Jacqueline Schwab and Martha Edwards
Callers: Peter Wollenberg and Bob Green

For those who would like yet more English Country Dancing with Jacqueline Schwab, there are workshops and the Jovial Beggars Autumn Ball in Salem, MO on Saturday, October 30, 2010, another evening in St Louis with Dance Discovery on Tuesday, November 2, and a concert at the History Museum on November 3. Download a flyer here for all Jacqueline Schwab events in the region.

Contact Bob Green at bobgreen @ swbell.net for more information.

Sun Oct 31
3:00-5:00 pm
$10

Bonus Afternoon Waltz Party
Band: Jacqueline Schwab and Martha Edwards

 

Sun Oct 31
7 pm
$5

Contra Dance
Band: Bobby Taylor on fiddle, Kim Johnson on banjo, Jim Nelson on guitar, and Dedo Norris on bass
Caller: Deborah Hyland

Sat Nov 6
8 pm
$7
Callers Choice Dance
Band: The Night Crawlers
Callers: Open Calling

Download a flyer.
Sun Nov 7
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band: Lindell Blackford and Geoff Seitz
Caller: Mac McKeever
Sat Nov 13
8 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band: Mickey Soltys, Jim Nelson, Jeff Miller
Caller: Ted Steele
Sun Nov 14
7 pm
$10
Waltz Party
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Waltz Workshop with Kent Koeninger from 6-7pm
Fri Nov 19
8 pm
$8
English Country Dance
Band: Tu'Penny Players (Martha Edwards, Ben Schreiber, Dana Hotle, Kristin Graham)
Caller: Chrystal Gallacci Jones
Sun Nov 21
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band: Cairo Pharaos
Caller: Deborah Hyland
Sun Nov 28
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band: Dave Landreth & Friends
Caller: Dale Wilson
Sat Dec 4
8 pm
$7
Callers Choice Dance
Band: Smugglers Cargo
Callers: Open Calling
Sun Dec 5
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band: Martha Edwards
Caller: Karen Jackson
Sat Dec 11
8 pm
$6
Contra Dance
Band: Clifford Harrison, Andy Gibble, Sean Barth, Nick Lloyd
Caller: Ted Steele
Sun Dec 12
6 pm workshop
7 pm dance
$10
Waltz Party
Band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
Workshop with Bob Green
Fri Dec 17
8 pm
$8
English Country Dance
Band:  TBA
Caller: TBA
Sun Dec 19
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band: Ted Vasquez & Friends
Caller: Mac McKeever
Sun Dec 26
7 pm
$5
Contra Dance
Band: Colin Blair
Caller: Billy Boyer
Fri Dec 31
9pm-1am
$10

NEW YEAR'S EVE CONTRA DANCE

Band: Rolling Scones (Martha Edwards, Pam Carson Stoll, Kendall Rogers, Fred Stoll)
Callers: Open Calling