Print

calendar-google tn
See the Google Calendar version of this schedule.

Dance Schedule Archives - 2013

MondayClub 2008LOCATION: All of our dances are at The Monday Club at 37 S. Maple Street, Webster Groves, MO, unless otherwise indicated.

Our Saturday contra dance is on the third Saturday, and the Waltz Party is the next day.

Once a month we have a three-dance weekend. Look for it!

Also see the dance schedule as a Google Calendar. You can subscribe to it and add it to your own calendar!

Past dances in 2013

Also see 2012

Tuesday Jan 1, 2013 from 11am to 3pm Brunch at Mac and Marsha's,

Ring in the New Year with friends!

Wednesday Jan 2, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Jan 4, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance Workshop $7

music: recorded
calling: Missy Reisenleiter and Friends

Saturday Jan 5, 2013 at 8:00pm Callers Choice Dance Cancelled

Sunday Jan 6, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Barbara Weathers and friends
calling:  Karen Jackson

Wednesday Jan 9, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Jan 12, 2013 from 2:00-4:00pm Flash Dance at Pere Marquette Lodge, then dinner, then more dancing at the Elsah dance at 7:00pm. Read more...

Sunday Jan 13, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Road Kill Ramblers
calling: Wade Pearson

Wednesday Jan 16, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Jan 18, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance $7

music: The Tu'Penny Players
calling: Bob Green

Saturday Jan 19, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: The Little Egypt Pep Steppers (Chirps Smith, Robert Freeman, Jim Nelson, Dedo Norris)
calling: Mac McKeever

Sunday Janaury 20, 2013 at 7:00pm Inaugural Ball $10  Download a flyer here.

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra playing music from America's past - Waltzes, Polkas, Ragtime, Swing
workshop: Robert Green

Wednesday Jan 23, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Jan 27, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Ellen Gomez
calling: John Coffman

Wednesday Jan 30, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Feb 1, 2013 English Workshop - date and time moved!  See note under Monday Feb 4, 2013.

Saturday Feb 2, 2013 at 8:00pm Groundhog's Day Callers Choice Dance $7

music: Reel Women
calling: open

Sunday Feb 3, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music:  Mound City Slickers
calling: Dale Wilson

NOTE NEW TIME - FIRST MONDAY!   Monday Feb 4, 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" English Country Dance $5

community-style dances at 7pm, fancy dances at 8:30pm
music
: recorded
calling: open
(NOTE: this new dance takes the place of the First Friday English Workshop, which is cancelled.)

Wednesday Feb 6, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Feb 10, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Michael Banvard, Marc Rennard, Jeff Miller, Keith Dudding
calling: Deborah Hyland

Wednesday Feb 13, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Feb 15, 2013 at 8:00pm Presidents Ball (English Country Dance) $10  Download a flyer here.

music: The Tu'Penny Players
Master of Ceremonies: Peter Wollenberg

Saturday Feb 16, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Steve Rosen, Fred Campeau and Dave Landreth
calling: Ted Steele

Sunday Feb 17, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop: Bob Green

Wednesday Feb 20, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Feb 24, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: The Boney Goat String Band  (Mike Saputo, Lindell Blackford, Rich Hibbs)
calling: Martha Edwards

Wednesday Feb 27, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Mar 1, 2013 English Workshop - date and time moved!  See Monday Mar 4, 2013.

Saturday Mar 2, 2013 at 8:00pmCallers Choice Dance $7

music: Reel Wopmen
calling: Dale Wilson, Bob Green, John Coffman, Kathy Coffman, David Keller and Karen Jackson

Sunday Mar 3, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music; The Lulus
calling: Jim Hemphill

Monday Mar 4, 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" English Country Dance $5

music: recorded 
calling: Bob Green, Martha Edwards, Missy Reisenleiter, Mark Rice, Karen Jackson

Wednesday Mar 6, 2013 at 7:00pm  Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Mar 10, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music:  Dugout Canoe
calling:  Mac Mckeever

Wednesday Mar 13, 2013 at 7:00pm  Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Mar 15, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance $7

music: The Tu'Penny Players  
calling: Bob Green

Saturday Mar 16, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Cliff Harrison,Sean Barth, Andy Gribble
calling: Wade Pearson

Sunday Mar 17, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance

music: Reel Women and the Jigelos
calling: Seth Tepfer of Atlanta, GA

Wednesday Mar 20, 2013 at 7:00pm  Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Mar 24, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance CANCELLED

Prairie Acre couldn't make it here from Kansas City because of the snowstorm that is hovering right over Interstate 70. Roger Netherton and Rich Egan were willing to save the day, but Ted Steele, who was to call, has laryngitis, and though we have callers who could jum in, we found ourselves in possession of more common sense than people would have imagined, and have cancelled the dance. Please stay home and drink hot chocolate.

Wednesday Mar 27, 2013 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Wednesday Mar 27, 2013 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Mar 31, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music:  Roger Netherton, Jim Nelson, Dave Landreth
calling: Karen Jackson

Monday Apr 1, 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" Apr Fool English Country Dance $5

music: recorded   
calling: Missy Reisenleiter, Bob Green, Martha Edwards

Wednesday Apr 3, 2013 at 7:00pm  Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Apr 6, 2013 at 8:00pmCallers Choice Dance $7

music: Reel Women and the Jigelos
calling: open

Sunday Apr 7, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Larry Unger, Eden MacAdam-Sommer
calling:  Martha Edwards/Bob Green/Karen Jackson/Jim Hemphill/Ted Steele

Wednesday Apr 10, 2013 at 7:00pm  Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Apr 14, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music:  Road Kill Ramblers
calling:  Deborah Hyland

Wednesday Apr 17, 2013 at 7:00pm  Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Apr 19, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance $7

music: The Tu'Penny Players 
calling: Jonathan Sivier from Champaign, IL

Saturday Apr 20, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music:  Campeau Creek Boys
calling:  Lisa Harris

Sunday Apr 21, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra   
calling: Bob Green

Wednesday Apr 24, 2013 at 7:00pm  Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Apr 28, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music:  Yellow Jacket Sting Band
calling: Mac McKeever

Saturday May 4, 2013 at 8:00pm Callers Choice Dance $7

music: Ginger String Band (Martha Edwards and Mark Kaiser),
calling: open

Sunday May 5, 2013 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Chirps Smith & Jim Nelson
calling: Ted Steele

Monday May 6, 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" English Country Dance $5

music: recorded
calling: open

Wednesday, May 8, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday May 12, 2013 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Folk School Wall of Sound
calling: Will Mentor

Wednesday, May 15, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday, May 17, 2013 English Country Dance Cancelled - come to the workshop on Saturday at Kimmswick instead

Saturday May 18 2:30pm English Country Dance Workshop at Cuivre River State Park, Camp Sherwood Forest

Friday-Sunday May 17 -19, 2013

Kimmswick Dance Weekend at Cuivre River State Park

Friday night dance
Saturday workshops
Saturday night dance
Sunday morning dance

Sunday May 19, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party  (YES! Call us crazy, but we are holding the Waltz Party at the Monday Club on the Sunday of the Kimmswick Weekend) $10

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra    
calling: Bob Green

Wednesday, May 22, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday May 26, 2013 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Dave Landreth & Friends
calling: Wade Pearson

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Jun 1, 2013 8:00pm Callers Choice Dance $7

music: Roger Netherton with Sean Barth and Alice Sanvito
calling: open

Sunday Jun 2, 2013 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Marc Rennard & Friends
calling: Kathy Coffman

Monday Jun 3, 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" English Country Dance $5

music: recorded
calling: MR2 (Missy Reisenleiter and Mark Rice and Friends)

Wednesday, Jun 5, 2013 Calling Party at Bob and Martha's house  7PM - YES!  Karen Jackson will be your host - same time, same place!

Sunday Jun 9, 2013 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Scraphounds
calling: Mac McKeever

Wednesday, Jun 12, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Jun 15, 2013 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Roger Netherton & Tricia Spencer
calling: Karen Jackson

'Wednesday, Jun 19, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Jun 16, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra   
calling: Bob Green

Weekend with Bruce Hamilton

Bruce Hamilton is a much-acclaimed English Country Dance Caller, and former President of the CDSS board. His provocative ideas on teaching, dancing and calling will challenge some of your most cherished ideas, and give you fresh reasons to hold onto others. Bruce is a phenomenal dancer - just watching him dance will probably improve your own dancing.  It's a real honor for us that he has chosen to come share his current thinking on these topics.

Friday Jun 21, 2013 8:00pm English Country Dance and Workshop with Bruce Hamilton $7

This is a dance, with invaluable tips pleasantly delivered by a master teacher.

Saturday Jun 22, 2013 1:00pm English Country Dance Callers Workshop with Bruce Hamilton $7

Dancers most welcome, whether you call or not!  Callers, bring a dance or two to call.

Saturday Jun 22, 2013 8:00pm Midsummer Night Ball with the Tu'Penny Players, calling by Bruce Hamilton and Friends $15 (discounts available for families and the under-employed - ASK! )

Sunday Jun 23, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Fiddling Billy Matthews & Old Tyme Players
calling: Dale Wilson

Wednesday, Jun 26, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Jun 30, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Ragged Robin (Billy Boyer, Martha Edwards)
calling: John Coffman

Monday Jul 1, 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" English Country Dance $5

music: recorded
calling: Missy, Mark, Bob, Karen and Martha

Wednesday, Jul 3, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Jul 6, 2013 at 8:00pm Callers Choice Dance $7

music: Roger Netherton and Friends
calling: Jim Hemphill, coordinator

Sunday Jul 7, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Mound City Slickers
calling: Gail Hintze

Wednesday, Jul 10, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Jul 14, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance$7

music: Root Diggers
calling
: Jim Hemphill

Wednesday, Jul 17, 2013 at 7:00pm Watch this space. The Calling Party has been cancelled!

Martha and Bob and Karen and Missy and Mark are performing dances of the early 1800s this Wednesday at the Lichtenstein Plaza (at the top of the MUNY hill) before the MUNY production of Les Miz. Come on out at watch! They'll be in costume, doing some pretty fancy dances...  So we've cancelled the Calling Party this week. But we'll be dancing at Bob and Martha's next week.

Friday Jul 19, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance $7

music: The Tu'Penny Players
calling: Peter Wollenberg

Saturday Jul 20, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: New Mules
calling: Christa Torrens

Sunday Jul 21, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party $10

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop at 6pm: Bob Green

Wednesday, Jul 24 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Jul 28, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Dot Dot Dash
calling: Martha Edwards

Wednesday, Jul 31, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Aug 3, 2013 at 8:00pm Callers Choice Dance $7

music: Ragged Robin (Martha Edwards, fiddle, Billy Boyer, keyboard)
calling: open  calling - Karen Jackson, coordinator

 Sunday Aug 4, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: 2 Women and a Truck
calling: Bob Green

Monday Aug 5, 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" English Country Dance $5

music: recorded
calling: open

Wednesday, Aug 7, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Aug 11, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Lodge Brothers
calling: Wade Pearson

Wednesday, Aug 14, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Aug 16, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance $7

music: Billy Boyer, keyboard, and Tim Hirzel, flute
calling: Kay Tomlinson and Wade Pearson

Saturday Aug 17, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Jamie Gans, Jim Nelson, Dave Landreth, Dedo Norris
calling: Tamara Lowenthal

Sunday Aug 18, 2013   Waltz Party Cancelled in Aug - Check this space for a Flash Dance!

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 The Calling Party is cancelled.

Sunday Aug 25, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Marc Rennard
calling: Deborah Hyland

Wednesday, Aug 28, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Aug 30 - Sunday Sep 1, 2013--- High Tea & Sarsaparilla English/American Dance Weekend

music: Karen Axelrod, keyboard, Martha Edwards, fiddle, Miranda Arana, flute
calling: Gaye Fifer

Sunday Sep 1, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Billy Boyer, keyboard, Martha Edwards, fiddle, Miranda Arana, flute
calling: Gaye Fifer

Wednesday Sep 4, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Sep 7, 2013 at 8:00pm Caller's Choice Dance$7

Sunday Sep 8, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Contrarians
calling: Jack Mitchell

Wednesday Sep 11, 2013 at 7pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Sep15, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance$7

music: Michael Banvard
calling: Karen Jackson

Wednesday Sep 18, 2013 at 5:30pm - Tonight's Calling Party will be a Flash Dance at the Botanical Gardens 

Meet just inside the main entrance to the Missouri Botanical Gardens at 5:30 sharp!  We go in as a group.
Click here for more information, and a map.

Friday, Sep 20, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance $7

music: Tu'Penny Players
calling: Bob Green

Saturday Sep 21, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance$7

music: Cosmic Otters
calling: Dale Wilson

Sunday Sep 22, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party $10

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop at 6:00pm: Bob Green

Wednesday Sep 25, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Sep 29, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Charlie Walden & Cousin Curtis
calling: Pat Plunkett

Wednesday Oct 2, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday, Oct 5, 2013 at 8:00pm Callers Choice Dance$7

music: TBD
calling: open

Sunday Oct 6, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance$7

music: Dave Landreth & Friends
calling: Wade Pearson

Monday Oct 7, 2013 at 7:00pm English "Plain and Fancy Dance"$5

music: recorded
calling: open

Wednesday Oct 9, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Oct 13, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Boney Goat String Band
calling: Kathy Coffman

Wednesday Oct 16, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Oct 18, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance$7

music: Tu'Penny Players (Kristin Graham, Martha Edwards and Friends)
calling: John Ramsay

Saturday Oct 19, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance$7

music: Euphoria String Band
calling: Mac McKeever

Sunday Oct 20, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party$10

music: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop at 6pm: Bob Green

Wednesday Oct 23, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday Oct 27, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance$7

music: Lindell Blackford & Geoff Seitz
calling: Ted Steele

Wednesday Oct 30, 2013 at 7:00pm Halloween Eve Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Nov 2, 2013 at 8:00pm Callers Choice Dance $7

music: Reel Women (Kristin Graham, keyboard and Martha Edwards, fiddle)
calling: open

Sunday, Nov 3, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Root Diggers
calling: Bob Green

Monday Nov 4 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" English Country Dance $5

music: recorded
calling: open

Wednesday Nov 6, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday, Nov 10, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: The Lulus
calling: Jim Hemphill

Wednesday Nov 13, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Nov 15, 2013 at 8:00pm English Country Dance  This dance has been moved to Monday, Nov 18

Saturday, Nov 16 , 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: U4
calling:Wade Pearson

Sunday Nov 17, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party $10 Free Waltz Workshop 6-7:00pm

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra   
workshop: Bob Green

Monday Nov 18, 2013 at 7:30pm English Country Dance $7  (workshop at 7:00pm)

music: Ragged Robin (Billy Boyer, keyboard, Martha Edwards and Aileen Murphy, fiddles, Tim Hirzel, flute)
calling: various callers

Special guest at this event: Rima Dael, Executive Director of CDSS

Wednesday Nov 20, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday, Nov 24, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Ellen Gomez
calling: John Coffman

Wednesday Nov 27, 2013 Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Sunday, Dec 1, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Lindell Blackford and Bill Stewart
calling: Ted Steele

Monday Dec 2, 2013 at 7:00pm "Plain and Fancy" English Country Dance $5

music: recorded
calling: open

 Wednesday Dec 4, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Saturday Dec 7, 2013 at 8:00pm Callers Choice Dance $7

music: Reel Women
calling: open calling

Sunday, Dec 8, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Two Women and a Truck (Barbara Weathers, Tom Hall, Steve Hall)
calling: Dale Wilson

Wednesday Dec 11, 2013 at 7:00pm Birthday Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more... 

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Hoosier Uprights (Geoff Seitz, Jim Nelson, Dedo Norris and Jeff Miller)
calling: Mac McKeever

Wednesday Dec 18, 2013 at 7:00pm Calling Party at Bob and Martha's Read more...

Friday Dec 20, 2013 at 8:00pm YULETIDE BALL (English Country Dance)  Read more...

music: English Jam Band
calling: Missy Reisenleiter, Mark Rice and Kay Tomlinson

This dance has free admission (a birthday gift from Martha Edwards and Missy Reisenleiter). In return, Martha and Missy are asking that you donate what you can to the CDSS Scholarship Fund. This will help send young people from our area to Pinewoods, the CDSS camp.

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 8:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: The Mound City Slickers
calling: Karen Jackson

Sunday Dec 22, 2013 at 7:00pm Waltz Party $10 Free Waltz Workshop 6-7:00pm

music: The Halcyon Light Orchestra   
workshop: Bob Green

Wednesday Dec 25, 2013 PROBABLY NO Calling Party (but maybe - watch this space for details)

Sunday, Dec 29, 2013 at 7:00pm Contra Dance $7

music: Roger Netherton on fiddle, Roy Farwell on guitar, Dave Landreth on banjo
calling: Peter Stix

Tuesday, Dec 31, 2013 at 9:00pm New Years Eve Party $10

music: Ladies At Play (Miranda Arana, flute, Kathy Dagg, guitar, Shanda McDonald, fiddle) with guest Martha Edwards, fiddle
calling: Open Calling