Schedule - Contra, English, Waltz and Dance Parties

LOCATION: All of our dances are at The Monday Club at 37 S. Maple Street, Webster Groves, MO, unless otherwise indicated.

Our Saturday contra dance is on the third Saturday, and the Waltz Party is the next day.

About once a month we have a three-dance weekend. Look for it!

See the Get the Google Calendar of Childgrove Eventsversion of this schedule

Upcoming Dances

Friday, May 25 to Monday, May 28, 2018 MEET ME IN ST LOUIS (St Louis Contra Dance weekend)

This is a big deal. Check it out!

Saturday, June 2, 2018 at 7-10pm Callers Choice Dance $7

band: John and Libby
callers: Multiple

Sunday June 3, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band:  Three Crooked Men
caller: Wade Pearson

Monday, June 4, 2018 at 7-9:30pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

band: recorded music
callers: multiple

Sunday, June 10, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Ellen Gomez
caller: Keith Tuxhorn

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 7pm Calling Party / Dance Party at Bob and Martha's house, directions here.

Friday, June15, 2018 at 7-9:30pm English Country Dance $10

band: TuPenny Players
caller: Tom Hurlbut from Muscatine, IA

Saturday, June 16, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Hoosier Crackerjacks
caller: Tamara Lowenthal

Sunday June 17 at 7-9pm Waltz Party (Vintage Couples Dances) $10

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green

Sunday, June 24, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Roger Wilco
caller: Sarah Kaiser

Sunday, July 1, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Mound City Slickers
caller: Fred Park

Monday, July 2, 2018 at 7-9:30pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

band: recorded music
callers: multiple

Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 7-10pm Callers Choice Dance $7

band: Ragged Robin (Martha Edwards and Billy Boyer)
callers: Multiple

Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Scraphounds
caller: Kathy Coffman

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 at 7pm Calling Party / Dance Party at Bob and Martha's house, directions here.

Sunday, July 15, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Martha Edwards
caller: Lauren Peckman

Friday, July 20, 2018 at 7-9:30pm English Country Dance $10

band: TuPenny Players
callers: Nicholas Rockstroh from Louisville, KY

Saturday, July 21, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Snorty Horse
caller: Mac Mckeever

Sunday July 22, 2018 at 7-9pm Waltz Party (Vintage Couples Dances) $10

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green

Sunday, July 29, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Boney Goats
caller: Jim Hemphill

Sunday, August 5, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Sadie Hawkins Day
caller: John Coffman

Monday, August 6, 2018 at 7-9:30pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

band: recorded music
callers: multiple

Wednesday, August 8, 2018 at 7pm Calling Party / Dance Party at Bob and Martha's house, directions here.

Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: The Young & The Fretless
caller: Dale Wilson

Friday, August 17, 2018 at 7-9:30pm English Country Dance $10

band: TuPenny Players
callers: TBA

Saturday, August 18, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Lucas Simpson, Aaron Albrecht, Rich Egan
caller: Gail Hintze

Sunday August 19, 2018 at 7-9pm Waltz Party (Vintage Couples Dances) $10

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green

Sunday, August 26, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: 32 Bartenders
caller: Jim Thaxter

Sunday, Sept. 2, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Ladies @ Play
caller: Bob Green & Andrea Nettleton

Monday, September 3, 2016 NO PLAIN AND FANCY DANCE - Enjoy Labor Day!  Have a picnic! We'll see you next month.

Sunday, Sept. 9, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Ellen Gomez
caller: Karen Jackson

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 at 7pm Calling Party / Dance Party at Bob and Martha's house, directions here.

Saturday, Sept.  15, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Lucas Simpson, Aaron Albrecht, Rich Egan & Dave Landreth
caller: Mac Mckeever

Sunday, September 16, 2018 at 7-9pm Waltz Party (Vintage Couples Dances) $10

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green or Lauren Peckman

Friday, September 21, 2018 at 7-9:30pm English Country Dance $10

band: TuPenny Players
callers: Conner Quinn and Missy Reisenleiter

Sunday, Sept. 23, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Mound City Slickers
caller: Deborah Hyland

Sunday, Sept. 30, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Three Crooked Men
caller: Sarah Kaiser

Sunday, October 7, 2018 at 7pm Contra Dance $7

band: Root Diggers
caller: Dale Wilson

Sunday, October 14, 2018 at 7pm Contra Dance $7

band: MO Possum Tamers
caller: Wade Pearson

Saturday, October 20, 2018 at 7pm Contra Dance $7

band: Euphoria
caller: Mac McKeever

Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 7pm Contra Dance $7

band: Roadkill Ramblers
caller: Ted Steele

 Past Dances

Monday, January 1, 2018 at 11am-2pm New Year's Day Potluck Brunch

Richard and Shirley Baker's house

Saturday, January 6, 2018 at 7-10pm Callers Choice Dance

Cancelled - Our callers want to go to the Jan-Jam in Urbana, IL - we're hoping to see the rest of you there, too...

Sunday, January 7, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: 3 Crooked Men
caller: Wade Pearson

Monday, January 8, 2018 at 7-9:30pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

band: recorded music
caller: multiple

Sunday January 14, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance FREE

This Sunday's dance is a special Engagement Dance for Sarah Winstein-Hibbs, daughter of Merryl Winstein & Richard Hibbs, to John Favini. Dress up, bring party snacks, and celebrate!

band: Roger Netherton, Rich Hibbs, Keith Dudding
caller: Lauren Peckman

Friday, January 19, 2018 at 7-9:30pm English Country Dance $10

band: TuPenny Players
caller: MR2 (Mark Rice and Missy Reisenleiter)

Saturday, January 20, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Meadowhawk/Matt Turino
caller: Sarah Kaiser

Sunday January 21 2018 at 7-10pm Waltz Party (Vintage Couples Dances) $10

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green

Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: The Roadkill Ramblers
caller: Deborah Hyland

Saturday February 3, 2018 at 7-10pm Callers Choice Dance $7

band: Blind Pig
caller: Multiple

Sunday, February 4, 2018 at 3-4:30pm Family Dance kids $3, adults with kids $5, max per family $16
        unaccompanied adults $7 (includes the Contra Dance at 7pm)

band: Ragged Robin (Billy Boyer and Martha Edwards)
caller: Bob Green and Friends

Sunday February 4, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: 32 Bartenders
caller: Dale Wilson

February 5, 2018 at 7-9:30pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

band: recorded music
caller: multiple

Sunday February 11, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Sadie Hawkins Day
caller: Kathy Coffman

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 at 7pm Valentine's Day Calling Party  hearts

YES!! There's a Calling Party on Valentine's Day - Bob and Martha's house. Bring a dance to call, or just come!  Newcomers especially welcome. If it's easy, bring a snack to share; otherwise, just show up with a smile and a hug.

Friday, February 16, 2018 at 7-9:30pm English Country Dance $10

band: TuPenny Players
callers: Karen Jackson, Peter Wollenberg, Mark Rice

Saturday February 17, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Dugout Canoe
caller: Mac McKeever

Sunday February 18, 2018 at 7-10pm Waltz Party (Vintage Couples Dances) $10

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leaders: Deborah Hyland and Larry Brenton - special workshop in the Norwegian Polka, a lovely, simple dance you can do to polkas, reels and jigs, say, while the band is warming up before a dance.

Sunday, February 25, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: MO Possum Tamers
caller: Ted Steele

Saturday, March 3, 2018 Callers Choice Dance  (Cancelled - The callers want to go to the Chance Dance contra weekend in Cape Girardeau. You should too! It's really fun!)

Sunday March 4, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band:  Hogtied
caller: Deborah Hyland

Sunday March 11, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band:  Short List
caller: Wade Pearson

Friday, March 16, 2018 at 7-9:30pm $15

English Country Dance Ball
HELLO SPRING!

TuPenny Players
callers: multiple

 

Saturday March 17, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Mound City Slickers
caller: John Coffman

Sunday March 18, 2018 at 7-9pm Waltz Party (Vintage Couples Dances) $10
         Free workshop at 6pm

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green

Sunday, March 25, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Boney Goat String Band
caller: Karen Jackson

Sunday, April 1,  2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Charlie Walden and Friends
caller: Ted Steele

Monday, April 2, 2018 at 7-9:30pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

band: recorded music
caller: multiple

 Saturday, April 7, 2018 at 7-10pm Callers Choice Dance $7

band: Ellen Gomez and Friends
caller: Multiple

 Sunday, April 8,  2018 at 3-4:30pm Family Dance $3-$5
         Read more about the Family Dance here.

band: Reel Women (Martha Edwards and Kristin Graham)
callers: Jill Horn, Karen Jackson and Mac McKeever

Sunday, April 8,  2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Music Folk String Band
caller: Bob Green

 Wednesday, April 11, 2018 at 7pm Calling Party / Dance Party at Bob and Martha's house.

Sunday, April 15,  2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Doss Branch String Ticklers (Ellen Gomez and Friends)
caller: Mac McKeever

Friday, April 20, 2018 at 7-9:30pm English Country Dance $10

band: Tu'Penny Players
caller: Jonathan Sivier from Champaign/Urbana, IL

Saturday, April 21, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band:  Campeau Creek Boys
caller: Lisa Harris

Sunday April 22, 2018 at 7-10pm Waltz Party (Vintage Couples Dances) $10
         Free workshop at 6pm

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra
workshop leader: Bob Green

Sunday, April 29, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Root Diggers
caller: Jim Hemphill

Saturday, May 5, 2018 at 7-10pm Callers Choice Dance $7

band: Boney Goat String Band
caller: Multiple

Sunday, May 6, 2018 at 3-4:30pm Family Dance $3-$5
        
Read more about the Family Dance here.

band: TMI (Tim Lilly, guitar, Martha Edwards, fiddle)
callers: Zoe Quinn, Conner Quinn, Bob Green

Sunday, May 6, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Countercurrent (Brian Lindsay and Alex Sturbaum), from the fine state of Washington
caller: Michael Hamilton, from the superfine state of Ohio

Monday, May 7, 2018 at 7-9:30pm Learn to Dance English (aka Plain and Fancy Dance) $5

band: recorded music
callers: multiple

Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 7pm Calling Party / Dance Party at Bob and Martha's house, directions here.

Sunday, May 13,  2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: The Great River Road House Band (Martha Edwards, Rich Egan and Lindell Blackford)
caller: Bob Green

 Wednesday, May 16, 2018 at 7:00pm ANOTHER Calling Party / Dance Party at Bob and Martha's house, because famous choreographer/caller Bob Isaacs is in town, directions here.

Friday, May 18, 2018 at 7-9:30pm English Country Dance $10

band: Tu'Penny Players
caller: Zoƫ Quinn

Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 7-10pm Contra Dance $7

band: Chirps Smith, Jim Nelson
caller: Chet Gray

Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 7-9pm Waltz Party (Couples Dances) $10

band: Halcyon Light Orchestra with Roger Netherton
workshop leader: Lauren Peckman

 

for Ted Crane
STL_CCD events at MC
date caller band
date caller band (waltz)